International Rank: #5 out of 766
Ranking is based on a combination of reviews and popularity on CoffeeRoast.com
United States Rank: #2 out of 447
Ranking is based on a combination of reviews and popularity on CoffeeRoast.com
Arkansas Rank: #1 out of 3
Ranking is based on a combination of reviews and popularity on CoffeeRoast.com

Onyx Coffee Lab Reviews

Flag of United States Rogers, Arkansas
Shop directly with this roaster
To maintain editorial neutrality, Coffee Roast does not earn any commissions directly from roasters. You may see ads for coffee brands via Google Ads. We do not control content. Please support roasters by directly buying/subscribing from their websites and shops. To learn more, please review our Advertising Policy.

4.37(35)

35 ratings
Ratings here are based on aggregated user reviews of individual roasts from Onyx Coffee Lab.
5 star
25%
4 star
60%
3 star
14%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%

All Reviews(35)

  • Courtney Huck

    15 roasts rated, avg score of 4.53

    5.00 - Average

    5.00 - Aroma

    3.50 - Value

    5.00 - Finish

    5.00 - Flavor

    5.00 - Acidity

    5.00 - Balance

    This is my go-to decaf option! There's not a lot of variety for decaf on the market (that I've found) and I also haven't found a lot of high-quality decaf. This mix hits all the marks. It's a nice medium blend with dark chocolate and apple undertones.

    Cupping Method:Filter or as iced coffee.

    11 months ago · See more from Courtney
  • Coffee Yinzer

    62 roasts rated, avg score of 4.51

    5.00 - Average

    This week enjoyed one of my favorite blends, Southern Weather from Onyx Coffee Lab. If your a coffee geek and you haven't tried Onyx do yourself a favor and get some. Pick any coffee, they are all excellent.
    6 months ago · See more from Coffee
  • Courtney Huck

    15 roasts rated, avg score of 4.53

    5.00 - Average

    5.00 - Aroma

    4.00 - Value

    5.00 - Finish

    5.00 - Flavor

    4.50 - Acidity

    5.00 - Balance

    This is one of my favorite coffees that I've tried lately! I'd say this is a good "neutral" coffee that works well as a regular everyday blend. Nothing about it is too overpowering. It possesses some citrus and chocolate undertones.

    Cupping Method:Filter

    Traits: chocolate
    11 months ago · See more from Courtney
  • Courtney Huck

    15 roasts rated, avg score of 4.53

    5.00 - Average

    4.50 - Aroma

    4.00 - Value

    5.00 - Finish

    4.50 - Flavor

    4.50 - Acidity

    5.00 - Balance

    This is another coffee blend that I'm excited about whenever it's the main blend that my local coffee shop is serving that day. It always makes me feel ultra cozy as I'm holding the mug in my hand. True to it's name too, it has some slight floral flavoring to it without being over the top.

    Cupping Method:Filter

    11 months ago · See more from Courtney
  • Courtney Huck

    15 roasts rated, avg score of 4.53

    5.00 - Average

    4.50 - Aroma

    5.00 - Value

    4.50 - Finish

    4.50 - Flavor

    5.00 - Acidity

    4.50 - Balance

    This one is interesting because I don't normally drink my coffee with cream, but the company promotes that their Monarch blend works best with a little cream in your cup, and I have to agree. I think adding a dash of oat milk really enhances it's flavor. (I like it by itself too, but something about the cream takes it to the next level).

    Cupping Method:Filter

    11 months ago · See more from Courtney
  • Susanna Paterson

    25 roasts rated, avg score of 4.36

    5.00 - Average

    Smooth, luxurious, dark, delicious

    Cupping Method:Had this as an Old Fashioned coffee cocktail (no alcohol) iced with Monarch espresso, orange oleo saccharin, cherry syrup and angostura and it is SOOO good!

    3 months ago · See more from Susanna
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1068 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    5.00 - Average

    5.00 - Aroma

    5.00 - Flavor

    5.00 - Acidity

    5.00 - Balance

    I love turtles!

    Cupping Method:Pourover with Chemex

    6 months ago · See more from Ted
  • Veronica Fair

    12 roasts rated, avg score of 4.67

    5.00 - Average

    Loved it, so good.
    1 year ago · See more from Veronica
  • D K

    2 roasts rated, avg score of 4.50

    5.00 - Average

    5.00 - Aroma

    4.00 - Value

    5.00 - Finish

    5.00 - Flavor

    4.00 - Acidity

    5.00 - Balance

    The dry powder has a pronounced aroma, reminiscent of flowers. Even when it's sealed in my grinder, I can detect the scent of coffee. The brew has a full body without any bitterness, and the taste of green fruits is distinctly bright. As the sip dries in my mouth, a delightful sweetness emerges, at which point I can discern the taste of honey.

    *I always enjoy my "coffee water," which involves adding some water to the mug after I've finished my coffee. I must say, the mixture with this particular coffee is one of the best.

    Cupping Method:Pouring over

    2 months ago · See more from D
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1068 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    4.50 - Average

    Small, irregular bean size. Very smooth. Earl grey, a bit of raspberry notes, just a light touch of floral. Very nice, 4.5 stars.

    Cupping Method:Pourover

    1 year ago · See more from Ted
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1068 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    4.50 - Average

    4.50 - Aroma

    4.00 - Finish

    4.50 - Flavor

    4.50 - Acidity

    4.00 - Balance

    Very much enjoyed this coffee. Some big beautiful beans. Very balanced and drinkable. A tiny bit of umami on the front of the palate, then I almost a peach and black tea with a strawberry kick

    Cupping Method:Pourover, chemex, 207F, natural paper filter

    1 year ago · See more from Ted
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1068 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    4.50 - Average

    5.00 - Aroma

    4.00 - Finish

    4.50 - Flavor

    4.50 - Acidity

    4.50 - Balance

    Small irregular beans. Classically Ethiopian with a lot of bergamot, jasmine and fruit (maybe peach). Pleasant acidity and balance. On my list to get more of but they only have 2 pound bags right now.

    Cupping Method:Pourover, 207F, Chemex, natural filter

    1 year ago · See more from Ted
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1068 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    4.50 - Average

    5.00 - Finish

    4.50 - Acidity

    4.50 - Balance

    Very smooth and balanced. A burst of fruit, maybe cherry, and black tea and clean finish. A pleasant natural sweetness. 4.5 stars, outstanding. Onyx 2022 Advent Calendar. I cannot find on Onyx website as of March 2023 so I am not sure if they offer this coffee for sale.

    Cupping Method:Pourover, chemex 207F, metal filter.

    1 year ago · See more from Ted
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1068 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    4.50 - Average

    4.00 - Flavor

    4.50 - Acidity

    4.50 - Balance

    Vibrant, black tea, bergamot, raspberry. Very balanced, very smooth with a nice palate linger.

    This came in the Onyx Advent calendar, I really liked this sample, but I could not find any record of Onyx ever selling it.

    Cupping Method:Pourover, Chemex, 207F, natural filter

    1 year ago · See more from Ted
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1068 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    4.50 - Average

    This is one of the best Mexican coffees I’ve had. Bursting with jasmine and bergamot. Balanced acidity with raspberry. Tidy and clean cocoa finish.

    Cupping Method:Onyx 2022 Advent Calendar. Chemex pourover. I couldn't find this on Onyx's website, so not clear if it's widely available.

    1 year ago · See more from Ted
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1068 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    4.50 - Average

    A great and characteristic Ethiopian. A lot of tea, a bit of bergamot, and jasmine. Peach. Smooth mouthfeel with slight umami. Nice linger on the palate.

    Cupping Method:Onyx 2022 Advent Calendar. Not clear Onyx sells or ever sold this outside of that.

    1 year ago · See more from Ted
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1068 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    4.50 - Average

    4.00 - Aroma

    4.50 - Finish

    4.50 - Flavor

    4.50 - Acidity

    4.50 - Balance

    5.00 - Quality

    Very drinkable, super smooth. A lot of black tea. Acidity is medium, a very nice. I get something like Fuji apple, maybe a touch of lavender. They are pretty muted. I didn’t get the tamarind until I read the description but now I get it.

    Cupping Method:Chemex pourover, 207 F, natural filter

    1 year ago · See more from Ted
  • Q Reviews

    56 roasts rated, avg score of 4.45

    4.50 - Average

    So, the dry aroma is very good, a hint of lavender, a bit nutty and some lime. The flavour is excellent; some nice peachy stone fruit notes fronted by white sugar sweetness, plenty of citrus and a little tea like with assam or orange pekoe florality.

    It’s not particularly layered or complex, homogenizing a bit as it cooled, it is certainly balanced and refined though. Very clean, sweet and uniform, a first class job by the roaster here. Couldn’t find a Quaker

    Cupping Method:Follow @the_qreview on Instagram for photos and the full post.

    1 week ago · See more from Q · Social link
  • Courtney Huck

    15 roasts rated, avg score of 4.53

    4.50 - Average

    5.00 - Aroma

    4.00 - Value

    5.00 - Finish

    4.50 - Flavor

    4.00 - Acidity

    4.50 - Balance

    This is a great blend because you really can't mess it up as you're making it. My mom likes her coffee on the weak side, and it tastes good prepared that way, while I like my coffee strong and it tastes delicious that way too.

    Cupping Method:Filter

    11 months ago · See more from Courtney
  • Victoria S-C

    390 roasts rated, avg score of 4.32

    4.50 - Average

    Liked Ted’s drip more than my latte!
    2 months ago · See more from Victoria
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1068 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    4.50 - Average

    4.50 - Finish

    4.50 - Flavor

    4.50 - Acidity

    4.50 - Balance

    I must’ve had Geometry at some point, especially since I did the Onyx Advent calendar a few years ago. It’s quite a nice blend, with a lot of natural sweetness, a touch of floral out and a clean/bright lemon acidity.

    Cupping Method:Drip at O’Some in Watertown MA

    2 months ago · See more from Ted
  • Q Reviews

    56 roasts rated, avg score of 4.45

    4.50 - Average

    Dry aroma is very good, peachy with sweet citrus. Flavour is also very good, more stone fruit, bergamot, some red berry notes too. Acidity is malic and citric, it’s balanced and quite full bodied with a pleasing mouthfeel.

    Harmonious. Clean. Sweet. Nice job.

    Cupping Method:Follow @the_qreview on Instagram for photos and the full post.

    1 week ago · See more from Q · Social link
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1068 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    4.50 - Average

    4.00 - Aroma

    4.00 - Finish

    4.50 - Flavor

    4.50 - Acidity

    4.50 - Balance

    Lovely natural sweetness and some really nice tropical fruit. Good balance. Tilts towards the smooth acidity side.

    Cupping Method:Pourover - Chemex, natural filter, 207F

    1 year ago · See more from Ted
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1068 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    4.50 - Average

    4.50 - Aroma

    5.00 - Finish

    4.50 - Flavor

    5.00 - Acidity

    4.00 - Balance

    5.00 - Quality

    Great. Intense but enjoyable burst of summer berries balanced. Smooth with a nice gentle linger on the palate.

    Cupping Method:Chemex pourover 207F, natural filter

    Traits: strawberry
    1 year ago · See more from Ted
  • Courtney Huck

    15 roasts rated, avg score of 4.53

    4.50 - Average

    4.00 - Aroma

    4.00 - Value

    4.50 - Finish

    5.00 - Flavor

    4.00 - Acidity

    5.00 - Balance

    I like this blend because it's a great mix of "half-caf". It has notes of peach, cocoa, and brown sugar (don't knock that combo until you try it). It definitely makes for a nice afternoon pick-me-up.

    Cupping Method:Filter

    11 months ago · See more from Courtney
  • Courtney Huck

    15 roasts rated, avg score of 4.53

    4.00 - Average

    3.50 - Aroma

    3.00 - Value

    5.00 - Finish

    3.00 - Flavor

    3.50 - Acidity

    4.00 - Balance

    This was an interesting coffee flavor that was well-done, but I don't think was for me because it's more "fruity" than I typically like. It's also on the pricier side. However, if you enjoy slight flavors of apricot and florals, then this could be the perfect blend for you.

    Cupping Method:Filter

    11 months ago · See more from Courtney
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1068 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    4.00 - Average

    4.00 - Aroma

    4.00 - Finish

    4.00 - Flavor

    3.50 - Acidity

    3.50 - Balance

    It’s a very interesting coffee with very bright acidity. A little bit of caramel, very fruity. I thought it was a touch more acidic than I like.
    1 year ago · See more from Ted
  • Coffee Yinzer

    62 roasts rated, avg score of 4.51

    4.00 - Average

    Crisp, Clean, above average body and sweetness. Nice acidity. Honey Processed.
    6 months ago · See more from Coffee
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1068 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    4.00 - Average

    A smooth balanced coffee with nice milk chocolate and black tea characteristics.
    1 year ago · See more from Ted
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1068 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    4.00 - Average

    3.50 - Aroma

    3.50 - Flavor

    4.00 - Acidity

    4.00 - Balance

    Very nice nose after grind. Definitely some pea and other small shaped beans with irregularity. Most notable note before brewery for me was a bit of caramel. Pour over. Totally different after cooling Dark chocolate turning to Irish Breakfast tea on the back end. Seemed a bit of an irregular lot and maybe a tad overroasted (perhaps due to mixed bean sized). This came out of the Onyx advent calendar so could have been remains of a lot.
    1 year ago · See more from Ted
  • Courtney Huck

    15 roasts rated, avg score of 4.53

    3.50 - Average

    4.00 - Aroma

    4.00 - Value

    4.00 - Finish

    4.00 - Flavor

    3.00 - Acidity

    3.50 - Balance

    This coffee has hints of cherry in it, which wasn't my personal favorite. It also possesses undercurrents of vanilla.

    Cupping Method:Cold brew.

    10 months ago · See more from Courtney
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1068 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    3.50 - Average

    4.00 - Aroma

    4.00 - Finish

    3.50 - Flavor

    3.50 - Acidity

    4.00 - Balance

    3.50 - Quality

    Has a nice black tea, Darjeeling character. Slight undertone of bitter wood. I was drinking Amaro last night and not totally dissimilar so not necessarily bad if you don't mind that. Other than that nice and balanced. Came in the Onyx Advent calendar which is a great way to try a lot of coffee from this great roaster but sometimes I feel like you're getting the tail end of a lot. Would have loved to have a few more beans to try this as an espresso since I got more of a medium roast here than a light/pourover one.
    1 year ago · See more from Ted
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1068 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    3.50 - Average

    4.00 - Aroma

    3.50 - Finish

    3.50 - Flavor

    3.00 - Acidity

    3.00 - Balance

    Flavorful espresso that veered a bit too much on the acidity front. Lots of like and hibiscus which I liked but wasn’t balanced.

    Cupping Method:Pulled by Onyx barista on Tempesta machine

    6 months ago · See more from Ted
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1068 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    3.00 - Average

    3.50 - Aroma

    4.00 - Finish

    2.00 - Flavor

    3.00 - Acidity

    3.00 - Balance

    I think this is a good coffee that might not be a fit for my personal palate or maybe I didn’t quite get the pour over right. There’s a lot going on in the front of the palate here with milk chocolate and burst of umami. A finish for me of underripe star fruit. Just didn’t seem to balance out into something pleasant for me.

    Cupping Method:Chemex pourover, 207F, natural filter

    1 year ago · See more from Ted
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1068 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    3.00 - Average

    This coffee is fairly smooth and has some really nice mid/main palate characteristics. Bright citrusy, floral, brown sugar. But it has just a bit of bitter/woody start for me that lingers, like a touch of wormwood and aspirin.

    Cupping Method:This came in the Onyx Advent calendar in 2022, but it is broadly available from them.

    1 year ago · See more from Ted
(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});