International Rank: #8 out of 774
Ranking is based on a combination of reviews and popularity on CoffeeRoast.com
Germany Rank: #1 out of 8
Ranking is based on a combination of reviews and popularity on CoffeeRoast.com

Suedhang Reviews

Flag of Germany Tubingen
Shop directly with this roaster
To maintain editorial neutrality, Coffee Roast does not earn any commissions directly from roasters. You may see ads for coffee brands via Google Ads. We do not control content. Please support roasters by directly buying/subscribing from their websites and shops. To learn more, please review our Advertising Policy.

4.57(17)

17 ratings
Ratings here are based on aggregated user reviews of individual roasts from Suedhang.
5 star
35%
4 star
58%
3 star
5%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%

All Reviews(17)

  • Scott Greenaway

    133 roasts rated, avg score of 4.25

    5.00 - Average

    5.00 - Aroma

    5.00 - Finish

    5.00 - Flavor

    5.00 - Acidity

    5.00 - Balance

    This is a unique, stand-out roast! The flavor tends towards green tea, complemented with toasted rice. It is well-balanced, well-crafted and delicious!

    Cupping Method:Vietnamese drip

    3 months ago · See more from Scott
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1085 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    5.00 - Average

    4.50 - Aroma

    5.00 - Finish

    5.00 - Flavor

    4.50 - Acidity

    5.00 - Balance

    I love this canephora, and I'm obsessed with it. I've probably only had one other robusta as good. I've also had the pleasure of driving through the Ecuadorian lowlands where this coffee was grown.

    First off, Suedhang packaging is gorgeous, both packaging and tasting notes. A great gift for any specialty coffee lover who appreciates design. This coffee has a wonderful aroma on the grind, but the treat is once your brew it.

    I do get the vanilla and papaya notes. But the biggest thing for me is this coffee drinks like rooibos crossed with genmaicha. And rooibos tea does often carry a little bit of vanilla, so that makes sense that they compliment each other.

    There's no harshness, bitterness, or rubbery character that you get in bad robusta.

    Also, as one might expect with robusta, it seems quite high in caffiene!!

    Full disclosure - it doesn't drink like regular specialty coffee, and you need an open-mind to enjoy it.

    Cupping Method:Various temperatures on Hario v60 and Chemex. Close to 200F got a delicate, complex cup.

    3 months ago · See more from Ted
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1085 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    5.00 - Average

    5.00 - Aroma

    5.00 - Finish

    5.00 - Flavor

    5.00 - Acidity

    5.00 - Balance

    This is one of my favorite cups of coffee that I’ve had this year.

    A super bright Kenyan that tastes like candy. Bright clementine, green apple. Cola and brown sugar.

    Very naturally sweet and smooth.

    Cupping Method:v60, 204 degrees.

    3 months ago · See more from Ted
  • Scott Greenaway

    133 roasts rated, avg score of 4.25

    5.00 - Average

    5.00 - Aroma

    4.50 - Finish

    5.00 - Flavor

    4.50 - Acidity

    5.00 - Balance

    This is a wonderful roast, with a rather unique flavor profile. I couldn't quite place the intriguing flavors, but I smelled chocolate and tasted a creamy dark cherry with a deep sweetness. The flavors were well-balanced throughout the cup.

    Cupping Method:Vietnamese drip, cream with no sweetener

    2 months ago · See more from Scott
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1085 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    5.00 - Average

    4.50 - Aroma

    5.00 - Finish

    5.00 - Flavor

    5.00 - Acidity

    5.00 - Balance

    I *think* this is robusta, but I have to dig out the sheet that I got with the shipment to double confirm.

    It's an incredibly sweet and vibrant coffee, and I'm only 90% sure it's robust. It says it all. I get ripe peach, a touch of lactic sweetness and mouthfeel, and a strong black tea finish. As with specialty robusta, I don't know if the average coffee drinker will love it (they will at least like this). The effort that goes into sourcing and roasting great specialty robusta is tremendous, and I don't know if anyone does it better than Suedhang.

    ----
    UPDATE - it's Arabica, which makes sense.

    Cupping Method:Hario v60 pourover, 204F

    3 months ago · See more from Ted
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1085 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    5.00 - Average

    4.50 - Aroma

    4.50 - Finish

    5.00 - Flavor

    4.50 - Acidity

    5.00 - Balance

    I'm generally not a huge Indian coffee fan, but this one was totally different than anything I've had before, not the chocolate/earthy style at all.

    It drinks a little backwards with a smooth orange pekoe type finish. A caramel sweetness hits first, then some honey/raspberry. It definitely has a unique overarching philosophy. Suedhang says magnolia, I don't really have a strong sense of that one, but I thought wildflower.

    Cupping Method:Hario v60 pourover, 205 degrees F (Stagg EKG)

    3 months ago · See more from Ted
  • Victoria S-C

    398 roasts rated, avg score of 4.32

    4.50 - Average

    Liked it more warm/hot. Very fruity and naturally sweet!
    3 months ago · See more from Victoria
  • Emily Schadler

    93 roasts rated, avg score of 4.24

    4.50 - Average

    Maybe my first Indian coffee? A nice spicy kick complimented by really strong bergamot note. Rich and strong. A great cup to start your day with.

    Cupping Method:Chemex pourover

    2 months ago · See more from Emily
  • Scott Greenaway

    133 roasts rated, avg score of 4.25

    4.50 - Average

    4.50 - Aroma

    4.50 - Finish

    5.00 - Flavor

    5.00 - Acidity

    5.00 - Balance

    A nice, balanced roast with a light-feeling flavor profile. The flavor leans floral/lemon, complemented with a nicely sweet acidity.

    Cupping Method:pour over

    3 months ago · See more from Scott
  • Emily Schadler

    93 roasts rated, avg score of 4.24

    4.50 - Average

    Sweet, caramel, leans to the dark side, and really enjoyable. Love having a complex and fun decaf option like this.

    Cupping Method:Chemex pourover

    2 months ago · See more from Emily
  • Scott Greenaway

    133 roasts rated, avg score of 4.25

    4.50 - Average

    4.50 - Aroma

    4.50 - Finish

    5.00 - Flavor

    4.50 - Acidity

    5.00 - Balance

    An intriguing roast with a sweetness that is reminiscent of caramel with a light touch of pear. I'm not sure what type of roast this is, but it presents as a medium, playing with aspects of both light and dark roasts. This is one of the most compelling decaf coffees I've sampled.

    Cupping Method:pour over

    3 months ago · See more from Scott
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1085 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    4.50 - Average

    4.50 - Aroma

    4.50 - Finish

    4.50 - Flavor

    4.50 - Acidity

    4.50 - Balance

    I really enjoyed this decaf. It has a ton of natural sweetness, and the first thing that hits is the caramel. There's a lot of natural sweetness here, the I get a sort of honey/blackberry combo and a clean finish. Platform is a light black tea.

    Cupping Method:Hario v60 pourover

    3 months ago · See more from Ted
  • Scott Greenaway

    133 roasts rated, avg score of 4.25

    4.50 - Average

    4.50 - Aroma

    4.50 - Finish

    5.00 - Flavor

    4.50 - Acidity

    5.00 - Balance

    A very intriguing roast! The unusual flavor profile leans earthy with a tobacco/straw undercurrent, complemented with a surprising touch of cherry.

    Cupping Method:pour over

    3 months ago · See more from Scott
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1085 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    4.50 - Average

    4.50 - Aroma

    4.50 - Finish

    4.50 - Flavor

    4.50 - Acidity

    4.50 - Balance

    Superfruity, with lots of berry notes, some peach, and definitely a hint of florality. I haven't had a lot of DR Congo coffee, so wasn't totally sure what to expect. The platform was black tea transitioning to green tea, with a fresh, floral, slightly grassy finish.

    Cupping Method:Hario v60, 205 degrees F

    3 months ago · See more from Ted
  • Victoria S-C

    398 roasts rated, avg score of 4.32

    4.00 - Average

    I liked it, I would drink it again.
    3 months ago · See more from Victoria
  • Emily Schadler

    93 roasts rated, avg score of 4.24

    4.00 - Average

    Feeling adventurous? Give it a go! Robusta is so different, and I haven't had it often, so it is hard to compare. This brew had a strong tea flavor with very clear toasty rice notes. I couldn't drink this every day, but as a novelty, it wins.

    Cupping Method:Chemex pourover

    2 months ago · See more from Emily
  • Emily Schadler

    93 roasts rated, avg score of 4.24

    3.50 - Average

    With this brew, I had the sensation that I was drinking some notes of a leafy green. Not sure what that flavor profile is.

    Cupping Method:Chemex pourover

    2 months ago · See more from Emily
(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});