International Rank: #4 out of 766
Ranking is based on a combination of reviews and popularity on CoffeeRoast.com
United States Rank: #1 out of 447
Ranking is based on a combination of reviews and popularity on CoffeeRoast.com
Illinois Rank: #1 out of 9
Ranking is based on a combination of reviews and popularity on CoffeeRoast.com

Intelligentsia Coffee Reviews

Flag of United States Chicago, Illinois
Shop directly with this roaster
To maintain editorial neutrality, Coffee Roast does not earn any commissions directly from roasters. You may see ads for coffee brands via Google Ads. We do not control content. Please support roasters by directly buying/subscribing from their websites and shops. To learn more, please review our Advertising Policy.

4.58(20)

20 ratings
Ratings here are based on aggregated user reviews of individual roasts from Intelligentsia Coffee.
5 star
30%
4 star
70%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%

All Reviews(20)

  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1068 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    5.00 - Average

    5.00 - Aroma

    4.00 - Value

    5.00 - Finish

    5.00 - Flavor

    5.00 - Acidity

    5.00 - Balance

    5.00 - Quality

    The best coffee I had in 2022. I had this twice in the Intelligentsia store in Chicago. I doubt this is one you'll see in stock a lot but I hope it's available year to year. Might be worth setting a Google alert.

    I think these are remarkable beans, carefully treated, then perfectly roasted by a great roaster. Mossto anaerobic means the coffee seed was submerged in its fruit pulped, and then the juice was expelled in a container for more than 3 days.

    How to describe the result - there is a lot going on, and it's all amazing. The first thing you notice, on the nose and first sip is the floral notes, paired with a strong Earl Grey tea type scent. The acidity is crisp and just right through, a kind of pineapple lime, and then the finish is a combination of all of it, and lingers a long time.

    Cupping Method:2x pourover in Chicago Intelligentsia, summer 2022

    1 year ago · See more from Ted
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1068 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    5.00 - Average

    5.00 - Aroma

    5.00 - Value

    4.50 - Flavor

    4.50 - Acidity

    5.00 - Balance

    This is the best organic value coffee I've had. On those nose, I got cherry cola and champagne - that effervescence has really been there for me. This made brilliant pourover. Balanced, smooth, just the right amount of acidity. If I had a cafe where I had to serve one light roast all the time, this one might be it. Intelligentsia puts out remarkable quality at the scale they operate at.

    Cupping Method:Chemex pourover, 207 F

    1 year ago · See more from Ted
  • Victoria S-C

    390 roasts rated, avg score of 4.32

    5.00 - Average

    Ted recently bought three good espresso and while they were all good this one I liked the best.
    2 months ago · See more from Victoria
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1068 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    5.00 - Average

    4.50 - Aroma

    5.00 - Finish

    5.00 - Flavor

    5.00 - Acidity

    5.00 - Balance

    A truly delicious Ethiopian with some twists on the usual character. You definitely get the florals here in the form of a bergamot/earl grey base. I got a little bit of peach, and then strawberry/raspberry with a touch of lactic character. No funk at all and a very clean finish.

    Cupping Method:At Intelligensia in Watertown. They said 18-1, 209 off the boil.

    3 months ago · See more from Ted
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1068 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    5.00 - Average

    4.00 - Aroma

    4.50 - Value

    5.00 - Finish

    5.00 - Flavor

    5.00 - Acidity

    5.00 - Balance

    A spectacular gesha that's a little bit different from the usual. Less fruity and more floral. The platform is distinctly earl grey, with a very subtle herbal/pine hint (I'm OK with Intelligentsia's choice of juniper to describe it). There's also a touch of sweet tropical fruit, like a ripe pineapple.

    It's incredibly smooth - not a hint of bitterness, and has a super clean finish. It's very easy to drink a whole cup of this without thinking about it.

    Cupping Method:At Intelligentsia in Watertown, MA

    3 months ago · See more from Ted
  • Haley Grant

    2 roasts rated, avg score of 5.00

    5.00 - Average

    4.00 - Aroma

    5.00 - Value

    4.00 - Finish

    4.50 - Flavor

    3.00 - Acidity

    4.00 - Balance

    Love this coffee! very savory taste
    8 months ago · See more from Haley
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1068 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    4.50 - Average

    4.50 - Value

    4.50 - Finish

    4.50 - Flavor

    5.00 - Acidity

    4.50 - Balance

    This is quite good cold brew type coffee (not totally clear how it's made) that's the style I like it and make it. It's very fruity with a great acidity that's bright red berries. It has natural sweetness, and a little bit of chocolate at the front of the palate.

    I will say that there's a lot of people who like darker roasts who probably won't be totally into this.

    Cupping Method:I bought this can at Intelligentsia in Watertown, MA but didn't drink it for a few weeks.

    1 month ago · See more from Ted
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1068 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    4.50 - Average

    5.00 - Acidity

    Smooth, balanced acidity. Definitely get dark unsweetened chocolate in the best way possible. Makes a wonderful cappuccino.

    Cupping Method:94-celsius extraction, 1oz pull, La Spaziale A53 Lucca.

    1 year ago · See more from Ted
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1068 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    4.50 - Average

    4.50 - Aroma

    4.50 - Value

    4.50 - Finish

    4.50 - Flavor

    4.50 - Acidity

    4.50 - Balance

    I've been testing out/working with 4 espresso roasts, and this is a pretty darn good one. A really nice medium roast with balanced acidity. Very good cafe roast. A medium crema in size and fluffiness. Caramel notes, slight nuttiness, and dark berry/citrus acidity.

    A good versatile espresso.

    Cupping Method:Espresso, Americano (hot an iced), made lattes for my wife. Worked very well pulled at 95C, 19 grams

    2 months ago · See more from Ted
  • Victoria S-C

    390 roasts rated, avg score of 4.32

    4.50 - Average

    Really good! Tamarind, pineapple notes.
    3 months ago · See more from Victoria
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1068 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    4.50 - Average

    4.50 - Finish

    4.50 - Flavor

    4.50 - Acidity

    4.50 - Balance

    Very good light roast Peruvian. Fruity with natural sweetness. Juicy grape is very forward.

    Cupping Method:Pourover at Intelligentsia Millennium Park

    10 months ago · See more from Ted
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1068 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    4.50 - Average

    4.50 - Aroma

    4.50 - Value

    4.50 - Finish

    4.50 - Flavor

    4.50 - Acidity

    5.00 - Balance

    This coffee is the first coffee I can remember specifically identified as being exclusively the Castillo variety. I researched Castillo to try to take a scientific approach here.

    The Castillo varietal is a type of Arabica coffee that was developed and is widely grown in Colombia. Its taste profile can vary depending on the specific growing conditions, processing methods, and roasting techniques. However, in general, the Castillo varietal is known for its clean, sweet, and bright acidity, which is characteristic of many Colombian coffees.

    Tasting notes often include flavors of red fruits, citrus, and sugar cane. It is also known for its medium body and smooth mouthfeel. Some coffee enthusiasts may also detect subtle nutty or chocolatey undertones, depending on how it is brewed.

    I find this aligned pretty closely, and nicely within the frame of traditional Colombian coffee. Chocolately, smooth, very fruity, naturally sweet. Very much get the sugar cane, including an acidity that's very close to the raw sugar cane I'd chew as a kid when it was a little bit less ripe. If anything I'd want just a touch more acidity.

    Cupping Method:Pourover at Intelligentsia Chicago coffee shop, made using Hario v60 with PourReady system.

    10 months ago · See more from Ted
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1068 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    4.50 - Average

    4.50 - Aroma

    4.00 - Flavor

    4.50 - Acidity

    5.00 - Balance

    Super smooth Ethiopian with great fruit characteristics. I get a blood orange and perhaps blueberry. I think it has a touch of umami at the front of the palate which is the slightest negative and keeps me from giving it 5 stars. Plateform is somewhere in between a rich dark tea and milk chocolate.

    Cupping Method:At an Intelligentsia in Chicago. They used a pour steady into Hario v60s.

    10 months ago · See more from Ted
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1068 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    4.50 - Average

    No fireworks but so smooth and easy to drink with a nice acidity. Definitely get a raisin/grape and orange. Somewhere between caramel and a black tea platform. Like it a lot.

    Cupping Method:Pourover at Intelligentsia Watertown

    11 months ago · See more from Ted
  • Victoria S-C

    390 roasts rated, avg score of 4.32

    4.50 - Average

    4.50 - Aroma

    5.00 - Finish

    4.50 - Acidity

    5.00 - Balance

    The first time I tried it I thought it wasn’t good, but then I had it on the next day and it was delicious. Not too bitter or dark (I tend to like light roasts). I’m so glad I retried it!

    Cupping Method:Pourover black at home

    11 months ago · See more from Victoria
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1068 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    4.50 - Average

    Juicy with very bright acidity and a clean finish. Caramel, blood orange, and red grape were notes me.

    Cupping Method:Pourover Chemex

    11 months ago · See more from Ted
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1068 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    4.50 - Average

    My notes are that had Batamba August of 2022 at the Millenium Park Intelligentsia and rated it 4.5 stars. I was running between meetings and didn't take more detailed notes.

    Cupping Method:Pourover at Intelligentsia Millenium Park

    11 months ago · See more from Ted
  • Coffee Yinzer

    62 roasts rated, avg score of 4.51

    4.00 - Average

    4.00 - Aroma

    3.50 - Value

    3.50 - Finish

    4.00 - Flavor

    3.00 - Acidity

    4.00 - Balance

    A friend gave me this to try from Intelligentsia Coffee. It is excellent. Good medium body, dried fruit taste but exceptionally naturally sweet. Really enjoyed it.
    6 months ago · See more from Coffee
  • Scott Greenaway

    130 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    4.00 - Average

    4.00 - Aroma

    4.00 - Finish

    4.50 - Flavor

    4.00 - Acidity

    5.00 - Balance

    Immediate flavor that is remarkably consistent from first sip to finish. Light, well-balanced, with a slight sweetness.

    Cupping Method:Vietnamese pour over

    10 months ago · See more from Scott
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1068 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    4.00 - Average

    4.00 - Aroma

    3.50 - Acidity

    Hanging out at Intelligentsia they pulled me a bonus shot of this as alt espresso. Very tasty and fruity in some ways but probably a bit too acidic especially since I’d just had a Doppio of Black Cat which is more balanced.
    11 months ago · See more from Ted
(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});