International Rank: #6 out of 774
Ranking is based on a combination of reviews and popularity on CoffeeRoast.com
United States Rank: #3 out of 453
Ranking is based on a combination of reviews and popularity on CoffeeRoast.com
Florida Rank: #1 out of 9
Ranking is based on a combination of reviews and popularity on CoffeeRoast.com

Resident Coffee Roasters Reviews

Flag of United States Gainesville, Florida
Shop directly with this roaster
To maintain editorial neutrality, Coffee Roast does not earn any commissions directly from roasters. You may see ads for coffee brands via Google Ads. We do not control content. Please support roasters by directly buying/subscribing from their websites and shops. To learn more, please review our Advertising Policy.

4.73(15)

15 ratings
Ratings here are based on aggregated user reviews of individual roasts from Resident Coffee Roasters.
5 star
33%
4 star
66%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%

All Reviews(15)

  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1085 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    5.00 - Average

    4.50 - Aroma

    4.50 - Finish

    5.00 - Flavor

    5.00 - Acidity

    5.00 - Balance

    Clean, fruity, smooth coffee that was unique to me as I tasted blind. I got blood orange, milk chocolate, light almond, light hazelnut, and just a touch of lime at the end. Naturally sweet and tart (sweettart?)

    I can't remember exactly what a makrut lime/kaffir tastes like that the roaster has suggested but this was a great and unique type of coffee that is a reminder of how much better Myanmar coffee has gotten in the last 5-10 yeras.

    Cupping Method:Blind tasting with a Hario v60, from the Revolver Coffee advent calendar

    4 months ago · See more from Ted
  • Emily Schadler

    93 roasts rated, avg score of 4.24

    5.00 - Average

    Loved the spicy, earthy, peppery notes in this. A joy of an espresso that has a nice crema and is packed with flavor.

    Cupping Method:espresso

    2 months ago · See more from Emily
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1085 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    5.00 - Average

    5.00 - Aroma

    4.50 - Value

    4.50 - Finish

    5.00 - Flavor

    4.50 - Acidity

    4.50 - Balance

    Absolutely bonkers, unique coffee that's perfectly described by the roaster.

    MAIZ. Well, what does that even mean. It's not really a note I've seen in coffee. But this one, on pourover, it's blueberry, black tea, chocolate, and then clear as day, Mexican corn. It's the best kind too, sweet and distinct.

    As espresso, the corn is present but more as an aftertaste. It's very nice, chocolate, gorgeous crema. Just a touch floral. Very smooth with a nice blackberry mid-palate and just a hint of a corn finish.

    Cupping Method:Chemex pourover, and in my espresso machine (95C)

    4 months ago · See more from Ted
  • Scott Greenaway

    133 roasts rated, avg score of 4.25

    5.00 - Average

    4.50 - Aroma

    5.00 - Finish

    5.00 - Flavor

    4.50 - Acidity

    5.00 - Balance

    This is a well-crafted and delicious roast! It presents with a strong coffee flavor, with a blueberry tilt and a hint of sweet corn. It is a bit tart with a strong, but lightly sweet, acidity.

    Cupping Method:pourover

    3 months ago · See more from Scott
  • Pablo Taborda

    1 roasts rated, avg score of 5.00

    5.00 - Average

    5.00 - Aroma

    5.00 - Value

    5.00 - Finish

    4.50 - Flavor

    4.50 - Acidity

    5.00 - Balance

    Chocolate, slight nutty with a citrus twist

    Cupping Method:Espresso

    2 months ago · See more from Pablo
  • Victoria S-C

    398 roasts rated, avg score of 4.32

    4.50 - Average

    Sampled a few days ago with Ted. Rated 4.5 but didn't leave any notes.
    4 months ago · See more from Victoria
  • Victoria S-C

    398 roasts rated, avg score of 4.32

    4.50 - Average

    Made a very good latte!
    4 months ago · See more from Victoria
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1085 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    4.50 - Average

    4.50 - Aroma

    4.50 - Finish

    4.50 - Flavor

    4.50 - Acidity

    5.00 - Balance

    A really nice espresso to work with in terms of milk drinks, and a very nice sipper.

    This espresso has an incredible aroma. Crema is outrageous, and I definitely get the sweet cola syrup. Chocolate flavors are deep, a lot of natural sweetness, and a spot-on mid-palate turn towards bittersweet. A little earthy in a neutral way. I like the level of floral here.

    Cupping Method:I drank espresso and made lattes for my wife. Extraction at 95 degrees, A53 Spaziale.

    4 months ago · See more from Ted
  • Scott Greenaway

    133 roasts rated, avg score of 4.25

    4.50 - Average

    4.50 - Aroma

    4.50 - Finish

    5.00 - Flavor

    5.00 - Acidity

    5.00 - Balance

    We got an amazing crema with an espresso from this roast. The body is intense, with a bit of a peppery spice, balanced with a light sweetness, hints of tart berry, and a lively acidity. This espresso packs a punch!

    Cupping Method:espresso

    3 months ago · See more from Scott
  • Victoria S-C

    398 roasts rated, avg score of 4.32

    4.50 - Average

    I liked it as pourover and latte. Very unique!
    3 months ago · See more from Victoria
  • Emily Schadler

    93 roasts rated, avg score of 4.24

    4.50 - Average

    Smooth, fruity, and then the sweet corn taste hits strong at the end - what a fun twist.

    Cupping Method:Chemex pourover

    2 months ago · See more from Emily
  • Victoria S-C

    398 roasts rated, avg score of 4.32

    4.50 - Average

    Smells just like sugar cane juice out of the bag!

    Smooth and tastes good, acidity is a bit simple.
    4 months ago · See more from Victoria
  • Scott Greenaway

    133 roasts rated, avg score of 4.25

    4.50 - Average

    5.00 - Aroma

    5.00 - Finish

    5.00 - Flavor

    4.50 - Acidity

    4.50 - Balance

    This roast leans dark, and has an unexpected hint of lime. A rather intense acidity emerges, lending complexity to the sipping experience.

    Cupping Method:pour over

    3 months ago · See more from Scott
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1085 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    4.50 - Average

    5.00 - Aroma

    4.50 - Finish

    4.50 - Flavor

    4.50 - Acidity

    4.50 - Balance

    This was a pretty unique and interesting coffee that I enjoyed. I left with the feeling that I didn't quite get the perfect extraction of it.

    First is the aroma which is pure sugar cane juice. I grew up drinking it and chewing sugar cane, and it's a full on hit including nostalgia!

    The coffee...

    I tried 4 temps and grind sizes. No matter what I got an aromatic and smooth cup of coffee with a lot of natural sweetness. Bergamot mid palate, and a slightly buttery mouthfeel seemed consistent. I got a bit more of a lactic taste at the highter temps.

    The roater described a creamy lime, and I think that's fair. I wanted more, and a bit more acidity would have taken it over the top. This sounds like it was a complex fermentation technique, and it's definitely a unique coffee. I think everyone is still sorting out the market expectation for Pink Bourbon, and I've had a couple similar to this one that are quite floral and muted on the acidity.

    Cupping Method:v60 pourover from 195F to 205F, Chemex at 204F. I bought the bag from Resident directly on the Internet.

    3 months ago · See more from Ted
  • Emily Schadler

    93 roasts rated, avg score of 4.24

    4.50 - Average

    The lime notes came out strong for me, especially mid-sip. I enjoyed the sweet/tart contrast in this one.
    2 months ago · See more from Emily
(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});