International Rank: #11 out of 766
Ranking is based on a combination of reviews and popularity on CoffeeRoast.com
United States Rank: #6 out of 447
Ranking is based on a combination of reviews and popularity on CoffeeRoast.com
Washington Rank: #1 out of 14
Ranking is based on a combination of reviews and popularity on CoffeeRoast.com

Blossom Coffee Roasters Reviews

Flag of United States Vashon, Washington
Shop directly with this roaster
To maintain editorial neutrality, Coffee Roast does not earn any commissions directly from roasters. You may see ads for coffee brands via Google Ads. We do not control content. Please support roasters by directly buying/subscribing from their websites and shops. To learn more, please review our Advertising Policy.

4.64(14)

14 ratings
Ratings here are based on aggregated user reviews of individual roasts from Blossom Coffee Roasters.
5 star
50%
4 star
42%
3 star
7%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%

All Reviews(14)

  • Scott Greenaway

    130 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    5.00 - Average

    4.50 - Aroma

    4.50 - Finish

    5.00 - Flavor

    4.50 - Acidity

    5.00 - Balance

    Distinctive and unique coffee! The intriguing and strong flavor presents as balanced throughout the entire cup, lingering pleasantly afterwards. It has a high, fruity taste that is unusually complimented with a distinctive chocolate undertone. This pairing works wonders, resulting in a thicker body, with a brisk flavor profile.

    Cupping Method:Vietnamese drip

    9 months ago · See more from Scott
  • Emily Schadler

    93 roasts rated, avg score of 4.24

    5.00 - Average

    4.50 - Aroma

    4.50 - Finish

    5.00 - Flavor

    4.50 - Acidity

    5.00 - Balance

    Amazing coffee! There were multiple levels of flavor that evolved as I drank, accompanied by a light sweetness.
    6 months ago · See more from Emily
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1068 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    5.00 - Average

    4.50 - Aroma

    5.00 - Value

    5.00 - Finish

    5.00 - Flavor

    5.00 - Acidity

    5.00 - Balance

    This is an outstanding organic Ethiopian light roast that highlights the flavors of Ethiopia. It's bursting with tropical and berry notes, riding on something in between a jasmine green tea and black tea platform. Tropicality - thought maybe guava. Blossom says passionfruit and I could buy that too. It's fun and dynamic in the cup, drinkable across hot and cool. On the website it's under $20 for a 12 oz bag, so great coffee at a great price.

    Cupping Method:Hario v60 pourover

    10 months ago · See more from Ted
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1068 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    5.00 - Average

    5.00 - Aroma

    5.00 - Value

    4.50 - Finish

    4.50 - Flavor

    4.50 - Acidity

    4.50 - Balance

    This week to try to stunt my East Coast bias, I ordered a six-pack of coffees from a roaster out of Vachon Island, WA called Blossom Coffee Roasters (ok fine, I did also buy four bags from Massachusetts and Maine).

    I started the Blossom with Edward Gonzales Organic Peru. From the moment I opened the bag, the S'mores aroma emanating from the ground beans was very inviting.

    Upon brewing, the S'mores notes carried through to the cup, creating a delightful and comforting flavor profile (a touch of lactic acid from the fermentation perhaps). The combination of black tea and clean citrusy bursts, which emerged around three-fourths of the way through the sip, added a refreshing and vibrant touch to the overall taste.

    As I continued to explore the flavors, I noticed a delightful transformation from tangerine to pear, which added a subtle sweetness to the coffee. It was impressive how well Blossom Coffee Roasters captured these flavors, as they had specifically mentioned pear, milk chocolate, toffee, and guava in their description, and I could detect hints of all these elements.

    One aspect that stood out was the nuttiness, particularly a cashew-like note that appeared at the front of the palate. This nuance provided a pleasant balance to the other flavors, enhancing the overall complexity and depth of the coffee.

    For me, a rating of 4.5 or 5 stars. I'm giving Blossom the benefit of the doubt since their taste notes description exactly matched the notes I found.

    Cupping Method:Hario v60 dripper. I purchased a 6 bag sampler from Blossom. They fresh roast and I sampled this coffee the day after they delivered.

    10 months ago · See more from Ted
  • Scott Greenaway

    130 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    5.00 - Average

    4.00 - Aroma

    4.50 - Finish

    5.00 - Flavor

    5.00 - Acidity

    5.00 - Balance

    A very interesting coffee that is a pleasure to drink! There is a sweet and light taste with a rich and complex flavor profile. The flavor is remarkably consistent and the finish clears out quick without any trace of bitterness.

    Cupping Method:Vietnamese drip

    9 months ago · See more from Scott
  • Emily Schadler

    93 roasts rated, avg score of 4.24

    5.00 - Average

    5.00 - Aroma

    5.00 - Value

    5.00 - Finish

    5.00 - Flavor

    5.00 - Acidity

    5.00 - Balance

    This roast made a wonderful cup of coffee. It was smooth and rich with a nice finish, and I really enjoyed the milk chocolate and toffee notes. I would definitely buy this one again.

    Cupping Method:Hario V60 Pour over

    9 months ago · See more from Emily
  • Coffee Roast Admin

    148 roasts rated, avg score of 5.00

    5.00 - Average

    This roast won a Best Roast award from the Good Food Awards. Since this is a reputable, judged competition, we count it as a five-star review to help people find the best coffee. Visit the https://goodfoodfdn.org/ for more details.
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1068 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    4.50 - Average

    4.50 - Aroma

    4.50 - Finish

    4.50 - Flavor

    5.00 - Acidity

    5.00 - Balance

    Delicious characteristic Sumatra. Chocolate forward with a slight smoky note at the top of the palate, and some sweet cherry flavors. Clean finish with a hint of fresh pear. Very smooth and balanced acidity. Not fireworks but that type of coffee many people would be excited to drink every day.

    Cupping Method:Hario v60 dripper. From a Blossom sampler with six single origins.

    10 months ago · See more from Ted
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1068 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    4.50 - Average

    4.50 - Aroma

    4.50 - Value

    4.50 - Finish

    4.50 - Flavor

    5.00 - Acidity

    4.50 - Balance

    I really enjoyed this Kenyan. Kenyan to me often has a bit too much savoriness, but I think Blossom has done a good job here muting it. There's still just a little, maybe in the form of something like a celery undertone. But no tomato and soy sauce. Very balanced and fruity otherwise, with strawberry, lemongrass, and black tea, and brown sugar present.

    Cupping Method:Hario v60 dripper

    10 months ago · See more from Ted
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1068 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    4.50 - Average

    4.50 - Aroma

    4.50 - Value

    4.50 - Finish

    4.50 - Flavor

    4.50 - Acidity

    4.50 - Balance

    I actually got 2 widely different extractions on this coffee. The first drank like a bit like a Kenyan with a grapefruit and berry character and the slightest touch of umami and a lemongrass. The 2nd time around I still just get a touch of umami. But a rich chocolate character, plum, papaya, and a less acidic cleaner finish. I don’t think PNG will ever be my most favorite but I did like this coffee.

    Cupping Method:Hario v60 2x

    10 months ago · See more from Ted
  • Scott Greenaway

    130 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    4.50 - Average

    4.00 - Aroma

    4.00 - Finish

    4.50 - Flavor

    4.50 - Acidity

    4.50 - Balance

    A great light roast! Clean, bright, and a bit dry. The flavor intensifies during each sip with a blossoming of acidity.

    Cupping Method:Vietnamese drip

    6 months ago · See more from Scott
  • Emily Schadler

    93 roasts rated, avg score of 4.24

    4.00 - Average

    4.00 - Aroma

    4.00 - Finish

    4.00 - Flavor

    4.00 - Acidity

    4.00 - Balance

    This cup had a great chocolately richness with a touch of a fruity flavor toward the end. I would drink it again.

    Cupping Method:Hario V60 Pourover

    9 months ago · See more from Emily
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1068 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    4.00 - Average

    4.00 - Aroma

    4.00 - Finish

    4.00 - Flavor

    4.00 - Acidity

    4.50 - Balance

    Smooth and balanced Colombian without a standout flavor characteristics. Definitely chocolate, low acidity, a little bit of grapefruit, lemongrass and herbaceousness. Easy to drink.

    Cupping Method:Chemex pourover

    10 months ago · See more from Ted
  • Scott Greenaway

    130 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    3.50 - Average

    3.50 - Aroma

    3.00 - Finish

    3.50 - Flavor

    3.00 - Acidity

    3.00 - Balance

    This coffee had a weaker flavor profile than I was expecting. There was a nice, high, clean initial flavor, but it did not round out after the initial taste. The flavor hinted of chocolate, faded quickly, and finished with a slight bitterness. I would recommend using extra beans if you prefer a fuller flavor.

    Cupping Method:Vietnamese drip

    9 months ago · See more from Scott
(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});