International Rank: #7 out of 774
Ranking is based on a combination of reviews and popularity on CoffeeRoast.com
United States Rank: #4 out of 453
Ranking is based on a combination of reviews and popularity on CoffeeRoast.com
Pennsylvania Rank: #1 out of 22
Ranking is based on a combination of reviews and popularity on CoffeeRoast.com

Passenger / Necessary Coffee Reviews

Flag of United States Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Shop directly with this roaster
To maintain editorial neutrality, Coffee Roast does not earn any commissions directly from roasters. You may see ads for coffee brands via Google Ads. We do not control content. Please support roasters by directly buying/subscribing from their websites and shops. To learn more, please review our Advertising Policy.

4.76(14)

14 ratings
Ratings here are based on aggregated user reviews of individual roasts from Passenger / Necessary Coffee.
5 star
57%
4 star
42%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%

All Reviews(14)

  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1085 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    5.00 - Average

    5.00 - Aroma

    4.50 - Finish

    4.50 - Flavor

    5.00 - Acidity

    5.00 - Balance

    I've been using this super tasty, well-balanced Colombian as an espresso. It's more dynamic than it sounds. Nutty at the beginning, a slightly salty chocolate, naturally sweet. Just a touch of blackberry but clean acidity wise.

    Cupping Method:95C pulls on La Spaziale. Made lattes, iced Americano, and straight sipping espresso. Especially liked the Americano. My wife liked the latte. I got it from Trade.

    3 months ago · See more from Ted
  • Victoria S-C

    398 roasts rated, avg score of 4.32

    5.00 - Average

    Makes amazing lattes!
    3 months ago · See more from Victoria
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1085 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    5.00 - Average

    5.00 - Finish

    4.50 - Flavor

    5.00 - Acidity

    4.50 - Balance

    Just a really good can of Snapchill cold crew here. Nothing fussy or complicated. Light but balanced with strawberry, rhubarb, and citrusy notes. It’a crisp and delicious fruitiness. Nice natural sweetness in the brown sugar range.

    The Snapchill process just does such an amazing process preserving the complexity and nuance of the coffee. Highly recommend!

    Cupping Method:Snapchill vertical tasting!

    6 months ago · See more from Ted
  • Victoria S-C

    398 roasts rated, avg score of 4.32

    5.00 - Average

    Light, easy to drink, my favorite out of 8 Snapchill and cold brews today.
    6 months ago · See more from Victoria
  • Emily Schadler

    93 roasts rated, avg score of 4.24

    5.00 - Average

    The first whiff hit me with the sensation of smelling flowers, and the first taste followed suite. It mellowed out throughout the sip and ended on a refreshingly sweet note. I loved that this drink was both super smooth and a little bizarre in the flavor world. This was my favorite of 7 canned cold brews I tasted today.

    Cupping Method:black, iced

    6 months ago · See more from Emily
  • Susanna Paterson

    26 roasts rated, avg score of 4.35

    5.00 - Average

    Amazing in brown butter latte at Drift in Newport!
    4 months ago · See more from Susanna
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1085 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    5.00 - Average

    I had a rare (for me) cappuccino at the New York Coffee Festival made with this roast at the Minor Figures oat milk booth. It was so good that it made me a fan of both. On my list to try more of this roaster.
    3 months ago · See more from Ted
  • Victoria S-C

    398 roasts rated, avg score of 4.32

    5.00 - Average

    Light, smooth, and very tasty.
    1 month ago · See more from Victoria
  • Scott Greenaway

    133 roasts rated, avg score of 4.25

    4.50 - Average

    4.50 - Aroma

    4.50 - Finish

    4.50 - Flavor

    4.50 - Acidity

    4.50 - Balance

    A full-flavored roast with a relaxed balance. The flavor profile features a nutty, sweet chocolate. Drinks smooth and clean!

    Cupping Method:moka espresso, cream with no sweetener

    2 months ago · See more from Scott
  • Scott Greenaway

    133 roasts rated, avg score of 4.25

    4.50 - Average

    4.00 - Aroma

    4.00 - Finish

    5.00 - Flavor

    5.00 - Acidity

    5.00 - Balance

    This is a very balanced and pleasant cold brew. It has a strong, relatively neutral flavor that ends with an acidic flourish that hints of the springtime flavors of strawberry rhubarb. I noticed a touch of bitterness at the finish, otherwise this was a flavorful delight.

    Cupping Method:straight from the can without cream or sweetener

    6 months ago · See more from Scott
  • Victoria S-C

    398 roasts rated, avg score of 4.32

    4.50 - Average

    So good!

    Cupping Method:Turkish latte at Drift Cafe in Newport, RI

    4 months ago · See more from Victoria
  • Ted Chan, Managing Editor

    1085 roasts rated, avg score of 4.28

    4.50 - Average

    4.50 - Aroma

    4.50 - Finish

    4.00 - Flavor

    4.50 - Acidity

    4.50 - Balance

    I cupped this twice, once almost a month ago, and once yesterday. I scored it a 4.5 last month and 4 yesterday. These are some really nice, aromatic beans with a chocolate scent. I got satsuma/orange acidity, cocoa, and caramel. There was some complexity but it didn't all pull together for me. The second time I made it it was lemon/caramel. Smooth yet with some complexity, a fun coffee.

    Cupping Method:Better extraction was 196F, 202g of water and 12g of coffee. This was part of Leaderboard S13. I guessed that it was an Ecuadorian Typica (it's a Mexican Typica).

    1 month ago · See more from Ted
  • Susanna Paterson

    26 roasts rated, avg score of 4.35

    4.00 - Average

    3.00 - Aroma

    4.00 - Value

    5.00 - Finish

    4.00 - Flavor

    3.00 - Acidity

    4.00 - Balance

    This was a cold brew that I would bring along to enjoy at the beach or somewhere relaxing. It was very easy to drink, with a good aftertaste. It was not super complex - just a good, easy to enjoy cold brew!

    Cupping Method:Out of the can, black

    5 months ago · See more from Susanna
  • Scott Greenaway

    133 roasts rated, avg score of 4.25

    4.00 - Average

    4.00 - Aroma

    4.50 - Finish

    3.50 - Flavor

    4.50 - Acidity

    4.00 - Balance

    This is a rather "light" light roast. Balanced, smooth, but lacking the complexity I was hoping for. The flavor profile prominently features honey with a nice acidity.

    Cupping Method:Vietnamese drip, cream with no sweetener

    1 month ago · See more from Scott
(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});